Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata



eduGAIN Steering Group Meeting

Tuesday 15th September, 07:00 UTC (in your timezone)

Please Note that the above time is CONFIRMED.

06:45 UTC
08:45 CEST

Arrival & "Can you hear me now?" (see  Connection Details)

07:00 UTC
09:00 CEST

Welcome, Introductions & Agenda Agreement

07:05 UTC
09:05 CEST

Membership Updates and Joining
  • 68 participant members / 2 members / 8 candidates
  • Candidates Under Voting (1)
    • Mexico / FENIX - 21-Nov-2019
  • Suspended Members (2)
    • MATE (Argentina) & CAFMoz (Mozambique)
  • https://technical.edugain.org/status.php

07:20 UTC
09:20 CEST

Joining, auditing and freshness of eduGAIN data

  • Discussion
07:50 UTC
09:50 CEST

Support / Security/ Operations team update

  • Update by Davide Vaghetti - eduGAIN service owner
08:10 UTC
10:10 CEST

Baseline expectations preliminary results

  • Update from REFEDS WG
08:30 UTC
10:30 CEST

Future SG Meetings

08:40 UTC
10:40 CEST

Any other business, Summary and Actions

08:45 UTC
10:45 CEST

Meeting Close


Connection Details

Attendance

Federations in Attendance (xx)

  1. Australian Access Federation (AAF)
  2. PIONEER
  3. SAFIRE
  4. IDEM
  5. MINGA
  6. UK Federation
  7. eduId.hu
  8. SWAMID
  9. INFED
  10. RoEduNetID
  11. TAAT
  12. GRNET

Attendees (xx)

  1. Terry Smith (AAF)
  2. Casper Dreef (GÉANT)
  3. Tomasz Wolniewicz (PIONEER.id)
  4. Donald Coetzee (SAFIRE)
  5. Davide Vaghetti (IDEM)
  6. Nicole Harris (GÉANT)
  7. Halil Adem (GRNET)
  8. Guy Halse (SAFIRE)
  9. Mario Reale (GÉANT)
  10. Pål Axelsson (SWAMID)
  11. Valentin Pocotilenco (LEAF)
  12. Janos Mohacsi (eduId.hu)
  13. Maja Górecka-Wolniewicz (PIONEER.id)
  14. Claudio Chacon (Minga)
  15. Rhys Smith (UK Federation)
  16. Raja Visvanathan (INFED)
  17. Sten Aus (TAAT)
  18. Valeriu Vraciu (RoEduNetID)
  19. Barbara Monticini (IDEM)
  20. Licia Florio (GÉANT)

Apologies (xx)

  1. Wolfgang Pempe (DFN)
  2. Jiri Borik (eduID.cz)
  3. Jani Heikkinen (Haka)

Notes (Draft)

Welcome, Introductions & Agenda Agreement

The Chair welcomed everyone to the September 2020 meeting.

Membership Updates and Joining

FENIX voting will be send out during the meeting.

MATE (Argentina) and CAFMoz (Mozambique) are now suspended.

Joining, auditing and freshness of eduGAIN data

General problems identified:

  • Problems with contacts (staff changes)
  • 'How eduGAIN works' (documentation updates/changes)
  • How do we know a Federation has the technical capacity?
  • Declining participation in T&I groups

Terry pointed out that AAF is experiencing the same problems at Federation level. To insure everybody is still compliant AAF runs a yearly compliance audit.
Davide agreed that auditing would be very interesting.
Tomasz explained that their also seem to be problems with tools, like the mail server. Automation would help

Terry shared AAF's compliance process with the SG: https://aaf.edu.au/subscribe/compliance.html

Rhys pointed out that a compliance audit would be useful, but will lead to fall-out due to not participating members. UK Federation would be in favour of having an anual audit.

Pål asked if a policy update would be required. He also supported the idea of having an eduGAIN audit. Vote of confidence could be used to suspend members.

There was general support for an audit. The Secretariat will be working on a process. Input is very welcome.

  • eduGAIN Secretariat to write a proposal for a yearly audit process for eduGAIN federation details.

Support / Security/ Operations team update

Davide provided an update on the eduGAIN teams. Because of the summer holidays the Support Team only had 3 reactive and 1 proactive ticket. The Support Team has also worked on the support documentation: eduGAIN support. Some staff changes will occur in the near future, but the team is properly staffed.
The Security Team has started to collect all security contacts from Federations that hadn't provide a contact yet. The team developed the Security Incident Response Handbook. The team together with SIRTFI is lookig at the feedback and results will be presented at the next SG meeting at the latest.

Baseline expectations preliminary results

REFEDS Baseline WG: https://wiki.refeds.org/display/GROUPS/Baseline+Expectations+Working+Group

Current work: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1u0XuvPRFKH5RaDEcgdp3jyfgNZbWAR4Q1yl0GzNkCro/edit?usp=sharing

Pål asked the SG: 'How to proceed?'. The baseline is very high-level. The next thing is the federation technology side. How? Should we use the eG SAML profile or a new document?
It was advised to update the current SAML profile. The OT will be crucial for final implementation.

Davide: brief analysis of the gap between the current status and the baseline.


Future SG Meetings

Town Hall

Any other business, Summary and Actions

The eduGAIN Connectivity Check tool has been updated. SSL check and scoring under development.




  • No labels