Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 27 Next »

The eduGAIN Steering Group is a body that consists of Member Federations’ representatives and has an oversight role in the eduGAIN service. Each Member Federation SHOULD appoint a delegate and deputy to the eduGAIN Steering Group (eSG). Each Member Federation should ensure that delegates and deputies can represent all Technology Profiles used by the federation. The eduGAIN Steering Group may also invite non-voting observers to its meetings and mailing list.

The term of the eSG Chair and non-voting invited observers is two calendar years. The eSG is responsible for:

  1. Approving changes to the profiles and documents in the eduGAIN Policy Framework, such as introducing updating or removing profiles or documents.
  2. Decisions on metadata peering relationships, e.g. exchanging metadata with other trust infrastructures.
  3. Reviewing and approving the membership of new Federations.
  4. Approving disqualification or temporary suspension for Member Federations as described in section 3.6.
  5. Appointing the Chair and non-voting invited observers to the eSG.
  6. Other tasks delegated to the eSG in supplementing Technology Profiles.

Decisions of the eSG are determined by a simple majority of Member Federations from the active list at the time of the call to vote, apart from constitutional changes (see 4.4). Member Federations may vote on all constitutional changes and new Technology Profiles but may only vote on changes to Technical Profiles in active use within their federations.  Each Member Federation’s vote is equal, and each Member Federation is initially regarded as active.  A Member Federation which is absent from two consecutive votes will be removed from the active list for the purpose of subsequent votes.  Participating in a vote returns the federation to the active list.

Voting takes place over two weeks, but a decision may be reached early if the required majority is achieved before that time.


eduGAIN Steering Group Meetings

Scheduled meetings:

In the recent past the following meetings have taken place:

eduGAIN Town Hall Meetings

The Town Hall Meetings are of informative nature and open to the public. In the recent past the following meetings have taken place:

Open Actions from eduGAIN Meetings

DescriptionDue dateAssigneeTask appears on
  • eduGAIN Secretariat to write a proposal for a yearly audit process for eduGAIN federation details.
eduGAIN SG - 2020 September

Completed Actions from eduGAIN Meetings

DescriptionDue dateAssigneeTask appears on
  • Brook Schofieldto alert members that fall into the category of the requirements for re-establishing membership.  
Brook SchofieldeduGAIN SG-2019 June
Brook SchofieldeduGAIN SG-2019 June
  • Tomasz Wolniewiczto share statistics on whether the "old" feed has been used and where with the eduGAIN SG list.  
Tomasz WolniewiczeduGAIN SG-2019 June
  • Nicole Harristo establish a small eduGAIN working group to look at recommendations on next steps for technical and behavioural standards in eduGAIN.  
Nicole HarriseduGAIN SG-2019 June



2020 eduGAIN SG meetings:

#1 - 24/25 March at T&I Town Hall meeting in Stockholm

#2 - 16th June America 16:30 UTC / 17:30 Amsterdam / 8:30 Los Angeles / 11:30 Lima+Washington / 13:30 Rio / 3:30 Sydney

#3 - 15th September Asia 7:00 UTC / 9:00 Amsterdam / 00:00 Los Angeles / 3:00 Washington / 17:00 Sydney

#4 - 15th December Europe 12:00 UTC / 14:00 Amsterdam / 5:00 Los Angeles / 8:00 Washington / 23:00 Sydney


2020 eduGAIN "Drop in Sessions":

A range of informal, drop in meetings have been organised for the wider eduGAIN community to come together and exchange ideas. These meetings are scheduled:

#1 - 21th January America 16:30 UTC / 17:30 Amsterdam / 8:30 Los Angeles / 11:30 Lima+Washington / 13:30 Rio / 3:30 Sydney 

#2 - 18th February Asia 7:00 UTC / 9:00 Amsterdam / 00:00 Los Angeles / 3:00 Washington / 17:00 Sydney

#3 - 21st April Asia 7:00 UTC / 9:00 Amsterdam / 00:00 Los Angeles / 3:00 Washington / 17:00 Sydney

#4 - 19th May Europe 12:00 UTC / 14:00 Amsterdam / 5:00 Los Angeles / 8:00 Washington / 23:00 Sydney

#5 - 21st July Europe 12:00 UTC / 14:00 Amsterdam / 5:00 Los Angeles / 8:00 Washington / 23:00 Sydney

#6 - 18th America 16:30 UTC / 17:30 Amsterdam / 8:30 Los Angeles / 11:30 Lima+Washington / 13:30 Rio / 3:30 Sydney

#7 - 20th October America 16:30 UTC / 17:30 Amsterdam / 8:30 Los Angeles / 11:30 Lima+Washington / 13:30 Rio / 3:30 Sydney

#8 - 17th November Asia 7:00 UTC / 9:00 Amsterdam / 00:00 Los Angeles / 3:00 Washington / 17:00 Sydney



  • No labels